What Are The Penalties For A DUI In Florida?

Florida has some of the toughest laws for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) compared to the majority of other states. Under Florida Statute 316.193, a 1st time DUI carries a minimum mandatory adjudication, six-month driver license revocation, six months of supervised probation, DUI Level 1 school, $500 fine, and 50 hours of community service. Depending on the unique facts of your case you could face up to 6 months in jail, 12 months of supervised probation, 12-month driver license revocation, $1,000 fine, among other penalties. The penalties get even more egregious if you blow over a 0.15 or if you have a minor in the vehicle. Under these circumstances you could face up to nine months in jail, up to a $2,000 fine, ignition interlock for six continuous months, among other ramifications. As you can see, receiving a DUI in Florida is not something to mess around with, which is why you need an experience legal team by your side to ensure you receive the best outcome in your case.

DUI—DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE PENALTY CHART

Florida Statute 316.193

Mandatory adjudication

316.193(6)(a) 1st time DUI316.193(6)(b) 2nd w/in 5 years2nd DUI Outside 5 years316.193(6)(c) 3rd w/in 10 years3rd O/S 10 years316.193(3)(b) 4th DUI
JAIL0- 180 days10- 270 days0- 270 days30 days- 5 yrs. FSP (L3)0- 364 daysUp to 5 yrs. FSP (L6)
Enhanced0- 270 days10- 364 days0-364 days30 days- 5 yrs. FSP0- 364 daysUp to 5 yrs. FSP (L6)
Crash0- 364 days10- 364 days0- 364 days30 days- 5 yrs. FSP0- 364 daysUp to 5 yrs. FSP (L6)
PROBATION6- 12 months6- 12 months6- 12 months6- 12 months
FELONYUp to 5 yrs.Up to 5 yrs.
DL REVOCATION6- 12 months5 years6- 12 months10 years6- 12 monthsPermanent
FINE$500- $1,000$1,000- $2,000$1,000- $2,000$2,000- $5,000$2,000- $5,000No less than $2,000+
Enhanced$1,000- $2,000$2,000- $4,000$2,000- $4,000No less than $4,000+No less than $4,000+No less than $4,000+
FelonyNo less than $4,000+No less than $4,000+
COMMUNITY SERVICE50 hoursN/AN/AN/AN/AN/A
DUI SCHOOLLevel 1Level 2Level 2Level 2Level 2Level 2
VEHICLE IMMOBILIZATION (NOT DURING JAIL)10 days of vehicle Def owns or operates.30 days of all D’s vehicles.10 days of all D’s vehicles.90 days of all D’s vehicles.10 days of all D’s vehicles.90 days of all D’s vehicles.
INTERLOCKN/A1 yr. min.1 yr. min.2 yr. min.2 yr. min.2 yr. min.
Enhanced6 continuous months min.2 yr. min.2 yr. min.2 yr. min.2 yr. min.2 yr. min.
COST OF PROSECUTION$50$50$50$100$50$100
COURT COSTSMandatoryMandatoryMandatoryMandatoryMandatoryMandatory
NO ALCOHOLNot statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.
VICTIM AWARENESS PROGRAMNot statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.
RANDOM DRUG AND ALCOHOL TESTING AT THE DEF’S EXPENSENot statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.
COST OF INVESTIGATIONNot statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.Not statutorily required.

Areas of Defense

  • Criminal Defense
  • Murder
  • DUI
  • Drug Trafficking
  • Civil Charges
  • Battery
  • Burglary
  • Controlled Substance Offenses
  • Fraud
  • Weapons Charges
  • Aggravated Assault
  • Aggravated Battery

Speak with Our Professionals Now

Call (407) 661-1109