Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Orlando Criminal Defense Lawyer > Orlando Marijuana Possession Lawyer

Orlando Marijuana Possession Lawyer

Although public attitudes towards the use of marijuana have softened in recent years, it remains a controlled substance subject to significant criminal penalties for possession. Indeed, unless you qualify for a medical marijuana exemption under Florida law, you can still be arrested, tried, and sent to jail for possessing even a small amount of pot. And even with a medical marijuana exemption, your options for actually obtaining the drug remain quite limited.

Even a first offense for marijuana possession can send you to jail for up to a year in Florida. So if you have been charged, it is in your best interest to work with an experienced Orlando marijuana possession lawyer. The Joshi Law Firm, PA, represents clients throughout Orange County and Central Florida facing these kinds of drug charges. We can look at the state’s evidence against you, explain your options for resolving your case, and provide you with a zealous defense in court.

What Are the Penalties for Possessing Marijuana in Florida?

Simple possession of marijuana is a first-degree misdemeanor under Florida law. In this context, simple possession means the defendant had 20 or fewer grams of marijuana on them at the time of arrest. Possession of more than 20 grams elevates the criminal charge to a third-degree felony. You

The difference between a first-degree misdemeanor and a third-degree felony conviction is stark. The misdemeanor can only result in up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. The felony can lead to a sentence of as much as 5 years in jail and a $5,000 fine. You can also face additional penalties if you possess marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school, college, park, or other restricted areas designated by law. However, many first-time, non-violent offenders arrested for marijuana possession may be eligible for a pretrial intervention program, which if successfully completed can lead to the dismissal of the criminal charges.

Florida’s Medical Marijuana Laws

Florida law allows residents with certain qualifying medical conditions–such as cancer, epilepsy, or HIV/AIDS–to apply for a Medical Marijuana Use card. You must first be diagnosed by a qualified physician, who will then enter you into the state’s Medical Marijuana Use Registry. Once on this registry, you can legally obtain medical marijuana from a state-licensed dispensary. You are not allowed to grow your own marijuana plants, and in fact you can be charged with a felony if you do. It is also important to remember that possession of marijuana, even for a medical purpose, without a valid prescription is still illegal.

Reach Out to Our Orlando Marijuana Possession Lawyers

Using marijuana for recreational purposes may be considered socially acceptable–even commonplace–in many parts of Central Florida. But it is still a crime. And if you are facing a marijuana possession charge, you need to take the matter seriously as you could spend significant time in jail. The first thing you need to do is speak with an Orlando marijuana possession attorney. Call the Joshi Law Firm, PA, today at 844-GO-JOSHI or contact us online to schedule a free initial consultation.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn