Your Guide To Vehicular Manslaughter In Florida
Car accidents are plentiful throughout the United States, so much so that the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) indicate that despite advances in safe technologies added to cars and other efforts aimed at reducing deadly car accidents that have been successful over the years, car accidents still happen far too often. Every year, an estimated 32,000 people will lose their lives in a fatal car accident in the United States. Drunk driving significantly contributes to deadly crashes, as one in three will be attributed to drunk driving.
Not every vehicular crash death is dealt with in the criminal justice system. Many are handled in the civil system where penalties are only financial rather than financial and time behind bars, as is the case in the criminal system. Though, some fatal crashes will warrant criminal charges being brought about. Deadly collisions that are deemed to be vehicular manslaughter are such charges.
If you were charged with vehicular manslaughter in Florida, this is a serious situation that can come with many years behind bars. Having the assistance of an attorney is critical. The Orlando vehicular manslaughter attorneys at the Joshi Law Firm, PA, know how to take on and defend against such charges. With a track record of obtaining favorable outcomes for individuals in this uncertain predicament the legal team at Joshi Law are prepared and ready to help you.
Vehicular Manslaughter in Florida
When a driver is not willingly trying to cause harm to others in the operation of their vehicle, but their behavior is so reckless that it does, then death that comes from this behavior can be considered vehicular manslaughter under Florida law. Here, the negligence that the driver engages in is so egregious that not only can a driver be tried in a civil court, but they could also face criminal penalties.
A highly intoxicated driver who drives their car and then causes a deadly crash is one of the most common scenarios where vehicular manslaughter is assessed. Other instances could include racing that leads to a deadly collision or a driver that is trying to use their vehicle to hit another car.
The Sunshine State considers vehicular manslaughter a second-degree felony. The punishments that can come with a conviction of vehicular manslaughter in Florida can include the following:
- A prison sentence of as long as 15 years or being put on probation with strict limitations.
- Hit-and-run deadly crashes may be charged as a first-degree felony, and then jail time could be as long as 30 years.
- A driver may have to pay as much as $10,000 in fines.
- Community service for 120 hours or less.
- Suspended license for a minimum of three months but as long as one year.
Vehicular manslaughter becomes vehicular homicide when the acts of the driver are judged to be intentional. Intent is critical because if it is alleged to be present then the charges will be a felony in the first degree, where a conviction could land you time behind bars for 30 years.
Speak to a Florida Vehicular Manslaughter Defense Attorney Today
There are ways to fight vehicular manslaughter charges and have the charges reduced for lesser penalties, or in some cases, the charges may be dropped. An experienced attorney can identify the most appropriate approach to secure the most favorable outcome. Call the Florida criminal defense lawyers at the Joshi Law Firm, PA, today to learn more during a free consultation at (407) 661-1109.